Just barely under the deadline, the squares are now hurtling their way to Amy.  Whew!

Olivia, the sheep, is designed by Amy Severino (of Amy Beads) and her nine year old niece.  As soon as my sheep herding collies saw it, they insisted I had to make it. :) 

Beth (Jewelry by Beth) gave me permission to redo a portion of her Cheetah print pattern into a square.  Thank you, Beth!  The rest of the patterns are my designs.

The monkey and elephants were made for my friend Robin who is currently battling breast cancer.  I was almost embarrassed to post the photo with the elephant charm because the square is so crooked – I couldn’t work the needle and the color-lined beads are a hair bigger than the opaque Delicas.  The top was much wider than the bottom so I squashed the sides together when I sewed it down.  That left a gap at the top.  I filled it with tiny scraps of Peltex and quilted the tree top, giving it a dimensional look that doesn’t show in the photo.

This was my first year submitting patterns.  I was the very lucky winner of the Bead-it-Forward call for patterns contest in November.  The elephant charm (two photos above) and this frog charm were included in the prize package.

I began participating in Bead-it-Forward in 2010 and I can’t begin to tell you how much I look forward to it every year. Now comes the hard part – waiting for the 2016 theme to be announced.

